Cellario

Is it possible to make Cellario methods that are composable? I can explain further if I get hits on this post.

Are you asking if you can generate a protocol on the fly outside of cellario itself and run it?

I’m also not sure what you mean by “composable”, but Cellario can utilize run-time variables and can incorporate custom scripted steps. I have a lot of experience with Cellario, so I can probably help with more explanation.

So you can imagine that any order you make would involve loading up tips to a liquid handler deck. Since the arms can’t reach all available spots (usually just the back two rows) it would be nice to do this because then I can maximize deck space.

I’ve heard of labs “loading up the deck with tip boxes Cellario doesn’t know about” which seems odd to me.

So I’d make a Cellario order called Load Tips. It would take an input what liquid handler and what tips. It’s easy to keep a micro serve stacked and loaded with tip boxes. There can be another program on the liquid handler that handles the redistribution of tip boxes once the precise arm is done.

I could make a reverse of this to do at the end to discard tip boxes.

I’m told I can’t do this though and that a plate (or tip box) can’t end inside a liquid handler.

By composable I mean that if I can make small units of work in Cellario, I build up more complex work and reuse old work.

You’re right that Cellario will not let you end an order with the tips left on the liquid handler. There is a feature that lets you save a “subroutine”, basically a series of steps from a protocol that can be easily dragged into a new protocol. I think this is limited to steps that pertain to a single thread, though. So if you tried to make a subroutine that included a liquid transfer step that connected two or more threads, it would not work.