Externally Communicating to VWorks to Bravo

Hello! I’m working on a project to communicate to the VWorks directly. I would like to write custom code to control the Bravo through VWorks. For example, I run a script to tell the Bravo through VWorks to move a plate to a location and then run an external script to scan (some check happens here) and then VWorks will wait for a response that will determine what VWorks does next (pop up an error message or proceed to the next viable item to scan). I want to be able to send commands back but no clue how to approach this.

I know Agilent has a VWorks API and some documentation for this. But I am quite new to using VWorks and APIs, and don’t understand how I can start communicating to VWorks. I feel like I’m missing a whole lot of information and have been trying to ask some of the support folks.

If there’s any support or guidance on this, I’ll gladly appreciate ! Thank you!

@Beverly its pretty straight forward - how far did you get? Do you have Microsoft Visual Studio setup and the API installed?

@Pete I have Microsoft Visual Studio 2022 installed. I also have 2008 because I tried using the samplevworksclient on 2022 and had issues with the one way upgrade. Is the samplevworksclient you’re referring to as the API? And 2008 still didn’t work for me. :disappointed_relieved:

In your solution explorer, make sure you you have Interop.VWorks4Lib added as a com Reference. Right click on Dependencies select add Com Reference. then you can browse and add VWorks.exe as a reference and you should be able to reference the API in your project

2 Likes

Then you should be able to add using VWorks4Lib; (if your using C#)

2 Likes

@Pete Thank you so much! I have been looking for VWorks4Lib everywhere instead of the exe. It makes sense now. :clap:

Wonderfull! Let us know how your project turns out, the bravo is an awesome instrument!

1 Like