Ideas for building a DIY normalizor

Per the request on another thread, here’s a DIY recipe for doing 96 well microplate normalization to a common volume. A disclaimer – I’m an engineer, not a scientist; I’ve worked on a few normalization projects that have commonality from a mechatronic perspective, but I haven’t paid attention to the actual chemistry being done. Consider it a start point; I’m happy to take it further in this discussion, or refer other people that have experience building complete systems around this concept.

To build a fast system you need a non-contact level sensor. Contact sensing is very time consuming. Anything using light – cameras, laser, or optical sensors can be near impossible to tune because of a wide variety of transparency and reflectivity issues. Ultrasonic sensors seem to be good choice, but not all of them. you want to try any sensor out and make sure it works in your application before you build a system around it. Baumer makes a range specifically for microplate sensing. I’m sure there are others, but this is the only one I know of with a beam focus that can aim down a microplate well.

Next, a dispense system. Where feasible, dispensing from bulk saves a huge amount of time over pipetting. My experience is primarily with solenoid/pressure systems which have the advantage of being adjustable for dispense velocity (based on system pressure and tip size) separate from volume (solenoid time). This can be done with any pressurized flask for the diluent, a regulator and any liquid valve for dispense time. You want very repeatable pressure regulation, and a very repeatable solenoid, ideally one designed around dispensing. You also need a good tip with a well defined edge for good separation.