Integrated qPCR

I am looking into options for integrated qPCR machines. We have a BioRad CFX384 that we could use, but we are trying to weigh the pros and cons of what is currently on the market. I have some experience with a QuantStudio 7 Pro and I’m looking into the qTower3 Auto. The most important things to me are robot access and the ability to automate the data analysis as long as the instrument itself performs well.

Ideally, I would like to be able to start the qPCR run, get the output from the instrument as Ct values, perform some minor calculations in a custom script, and generate a worklist for a liquid handler based off the quantification. Is anyone doing this kind of thing already? How does the analysis part work? Is there another instrument I should check out?

Most folks probably use the QuantStudio 7 Pro. The file it generates is a zip file.

This thread is useful.

Are you using a scheduler or would this handoff be through a liquid handler?

2 Likes

We would be running with a scheduler. I have played around with the EDS files that the QuantStudio generates before. Thanks for linking to that thread.

In a previous lab we used a QuantStudio as a walk-up instrument, so the biologists always interacted with the data. My understanding was that there was an analysis software that opened the EDS file, performed normalization and Ct calling, then exported as a CSV. Does the EDS file actually contain the analyzed data? If it is just am after of parsing the EDS, then I can handle that.

Yes it does! Copy any .eds file and then change the ending to .zip., you’ll find that now you can extract a ton of information. Schedulers already have integration drivers for QS7 Pro so if you’re always running the same protocol, you can just create your own data parser.

However if you want to control every granular detail, say modify your QS7 Pro method on the fly… you’ll need to explore the above link.