Integration/Collaboration with ANL's Worklow Execution Interface (WEI)

Hello everyone!

My name’s Ryan Lewis, and I’m a software developer at Argonne National Laboratory’s Rapid Prototyping Lab. We’ve been developing an open source laboratory automation solution called the Workflow Execution Interface (WEI, for short). You can find all of our code at https://github.com/AD-SDL.

PyLabRobot has been on our radar for a bit, so I wanted to reach out to start making some connections/introductions, and see what interest there might be in a collaboration between the RPL and the PLR team/community. We seem to have shared goals around making automated laboratories more open, accessible, and interoperable, so I’m optimistic that there’s a strong foundation for a mutually beneficial collaboration.

(My thanks to @Alex for reaching out to us via this github issue, and my apologies for not following up sooner)

5 Likes

Welcome!

I’ve been lurking your WEI repo ever since I saw @Alex’s issue - we are building a scheduler & experimental state management layer above pylabrobot and I noticed interesting parallels between our designs.

It will be helpful to learn if we can work together on something open-source that generalizes across many labs and applications.

2 Likes

@rickwierenga

Seems like an awesome project, I’ll check out the code and get back to you on how we can work together

1 Like

Awesome project! There’s definitely a great opportunity to collaborate here. Should I organize a quick call to get started?

(didn’t get any notification of that GH issue…)

1 Like

Thank you all for the warm welcome!

I think that’s a great idea! My email is ryan.lewis@anl.gov if you’d like to reach out directly, and I know a few of my coworkers would be interested to join as well.

1 Like

@Stefan @rickwierenga @ryandlewis
you may be interested in checking this project from University Greifswald as well