Robocolumns on Fluent!

Does anyone have a good example method that utilizes the robocolumns on a Fluent?

Training and installations covered only the most basics applications for Fluent Control, but documentation on utilizing the plate slide within a method is like a desert.

Interested in any example I can find. I got a method from an FSE but it was like super complex and wasn’t the easiest to re-engineer/apply :roll_eyes:

2 Likes

I haven’t had to use them yet but I’m happy to take a look at the method to help you make some sense of it.

I’m definitely an advanced EVO/Fluent user.

2 Likes

Yeah that be tight! I’ll upload the .zeia!

I have 15 years experience with Tecan automation & Robocolumns
Recently implemented a Fluent script - Tecan supplies scripts which exceed 5,000 lines and expect end users to manage them

Would be interested to discuss specific needs - a Fluent isn’t a Chromatography system but I’ve managed to align functions that bridge the difference

2 Likes

1 Like

Wow, that shuttle/holder looks different from the standard I got from Tecan. Does anyone else have issues with the standard shuttle waste tray not fully engaging and disengaging? I’ve had multiple times where it drips caustic over the sides or below the robocolumn holder and it has just eaten away at the not-very-waterproof shuttle below it.

On another note, the Robocolumns scripting wizard is not very practical when it comes to building a flexible workflow. It doesn’t utilize loops at all and the collection of samples can easily be thrown off if you change any of your lines of code. It’s almost better to write stuff out from scratch, or use the wizard to make a skeleton script and modify it with a much more practical structure where you can loop your column steps per CV (number of column injections per loop with vol per injection).

Are you using Robocolumns on an EVO or Fluent?
waste trays and dripping is a “feature”